What is Flux and what is it best at?
Short answer: Flux is a family of AI image models made by Black Forest Labs, a German AI company. It is not made by Midjourney or Google. Some versions are sold through an API (a way for software to call a model) and some have downloadable "open weights" (the model files themselves), and the licence on those files is the catch: some allow commercial use and some do not. Before you use any Flux output for paid work, check which version you used and what its terms say.
Flux shows up in tool lists as if it were one thing. It is a family with different strengths, different prices and different licences, and one wrong download can leave a business without commercial rights.
I'm Ranjit, and I run Blur Studio: 15+ years building software, 120 apps taken live, and clients who have gone on to raise $10M+. I build AI systems and processes that help businesses do a lot more with a lot less time. I also work differently from most of what else is out there, more on that further down this page. Say hello.
Flux (written FLUX by its makers) is a set of AI image models from Black Forest Labs, often shortened to BFL. If you searched "flux ai image generator", you probably want three answers: what the versions are, whether you can use it commercially, and how to get it without a developer. This page gives those, with one warning about licences that most guides skip.
Facts come from BFL's FLUX.2 documentation and pricing page as of 4 November 2026, and from Higgsfield's in-product model list. Check BFL's terms for its hosted versions before you use them for client work.
This page may contain affiliate links from which Blur Studio earns commissions.
What Flux is and who makes it
Black Forest Labs builds the Flux models. They generate images from text and edit images from a prompt plus reference pictures. You will meet Flux in three places: on BFL's own site and API, inside other companies' apps and platforms that pay to host it, and as downloadable files that a developer runs on their own computer.
The company's current pricing page lists FLUX 3 Image, a smaller FLUX 3 Image Klein, FLUX 3 Video, video tools, and the older FLUX.2 and FLUX.1 lines, so "Flux" now covers images and video. Wikipedia's article on the models dates FLUX.1 to August 2024, FLUX.2 to November 2025 and FLUX.3 to July 2026. Wikipedia is a secondary source, so treat the dates as reported. The newest names may change before you read this, and the rest of this page mostly covers FLUX.2 because that is where BFL's own overview page spells out the licences.
The family in plain terms
For FLUX.2, BFL's overview names five variants. In brackets is how BFL describes them.
| Variant | What it is for | Access and licence (as read) |
|---|---|---|
| [klein] | The fastest. Comes in 4B and 9B sizes (the B stands for billions of parameters, a rough size measure) | 4B: open weights, Apache 2.0 licence. 9B: open weights, FLUX Non-Commercial License |
| [pro] | Production use | Hosted. Terms not stated on the overview page |
| [max] | Highest quality, with "grounding search" (it can look things up to get a real-world detail right) | Hosted. Terms not stated on the overview page |
| [flex] | Typography and fine detail, with adjustable steps and guidance | Hosted. Terms not stated on the overview page |
| [dev] | For developers to experiment | Open weights, free for non-commercial use only |
Older FLUX.1 models also still circulate. Check their terms before you use them for paid work. Reference images (pictures you give the model so it matches a product or style) are capped by route: up to 10 in BFL's playground, up to 8 through the API for pro, max and flex, and up to 4 for klein. BFL's overview says FLUX.2 outputs up to 4 megapixels.
What it is best at
BFL's own pages emphasise prompt following, multi-reference editing, typography (flex), exact brand colours by hex code and structured JSON prompts. Those are vendor claims. Independent blogs mostly agree that the quality is production grade, but they disagree about text, and several warn about wrong letters. I know of no neutral benchmark, so I would not rank it against Midjourney on realism.
A one-line decision rule from BFL's own variant descriptions: flex for text and small detail, max for top quality and anything that benefits from search, klein for speed, pro as the default hosted choice. Then test it, because a rule from a vendor page is a starting point.
Open weights versus hosted: the licence trap
This is the part most "what is Flux" pages skip. Downloading open weights does not give a business commercial rights. Per BFL's overview:
- [klein] 4B is released under Apache 2.0, a licence that generally allows commercial use. Its Hugging Face page (the site where model files are shared) says "Open weights available for commercial use under the Apache 2.0 license". Read the licence text itself.
- [klein] 9B is under the FLUX Non-Commercial License. The 4B model's Hugging Face page says the 9B models were released "under a non-commercial license", and BFL's overview says the same. The 9B page itself asks for a login, so read its terms after you sign in. Do not use it for client or paid work.
- [dev] is free for non-commercial use only. Its Hugging Face page lists the licence as flux-non-commercial-license and asks you to accept the FLUX Non-Commercial License Agreement before you can download files.
- Hosted [pro], [max] and [flex]: the overview page does not state the terms. Read BFL's current terms before client work, and ask whoever hosts the model for you which terms apply.
BFL's open-weights licensing page (as of 4 November 2026) lists tiers for self-hosting. Builder covers FLUX 3 Image Klein and FLUX.2 [klein], 10,000 images a month and one domain, for visuals that support your own operations and marketing, and the page calls it "not meant for client use or downstream applications". Platform (100,000 images a month) is for product teams building image generation into a product, and adds FLUX.2 [klein] Base 9B and [dev]. Professional (100,000 images a month, up to 3 domains) is for agencies producing images for named clients, includes [dev], and charges per-client fees after the first 3 clients. Enterprise is custom. Prices on that page are by contact or purchase, so none are listed here. If you plan to run Flux on your own servers for a business, those tiers are where the commercial rights sit, and an agency needs the Professional one. This is information, not legal advice.
A practical example, made up: an agency downloads the [dev] files because a blog said "Flux is free", sets it up on a rented GPU (graphics card) and starts selling product images. The files were for non-commercial use. The money saved is small compared to the risk of a dispute with a client or a vendor. The fix is to use a hosted route under its own terms, or to buy the right licence tier.
What it costs
BFL's pricing page (read 4 November 2026) is pay as you go, with no subscription or seat fee. It prices each family in its own tab, and the units differ, so read the tab for the model you plan to use.
| Model (API) | Price printed on BFL's page |
|---|---|
| FLUX 3 Image | $0.041 per image at 768 x 768, $0.048 at 1K, $0.07 at 1.5K, $0.10 at 2K, $0.607 at 4K |
| FLUX 3 Image Klein | $0.008 at 768 x 768, $0.009 at 1K, $0.011 at 1.5K, $0.014 at 2K, $0.036 at 4K |
| FLUX.2 [max] | $0.07 for the first megapixel, $0.03 for each added megapixel |
| FLUX.2 [pro] | $0.03 for the first megapixel, $0.015 for each added one |
| FLUX.2 [klein] 9B | $0.015 first megapixel, $0.002 each added one |
| FLUX.2 [klein] 4B | $0.014 first megapixel, $0.001 each added one |
| FLUX.2 [flex] | $0.05 per megapixel |
A megapixel (MP) is about a million pixels, so a 1024 x 1024 image is about 1 MP. The $0.048 figure is therefore the FLUX 3 Image price at 1K, and it applies to no other model. My arithmetic, by my reading of the "first" and "added" columns: 100 images of about 1 MP cost about $3.00 on [pro] and $7.00 on [max]. A 2 MP image on [pro] costs about $0.03 + $0.015 = $0.045. Check how BFL bills your size before you budget. If Flux is the only model you need, going to BFL directly can cost less than a platform. If you mix models, a platform may be simpler.
Business uses
- Product and lifestyle images with reference photos, in a consistent colour palette set by hex codes.
- Social graphics and posters where flex's typography may help. Proofread every line. See getting text on images that reads right.
- Mood boards and concept art before a shoot or a design round.
- Batch variations of an existing image when a developer wires it into a workflow.
Not good for: exact legal text, real faces of people who have not agreed, or any image that must match a physical product without checking. Compare it with other tools in best AI image generators for business.
How to access it
- BFL's playground and API. The direct route. The API suits a developer; the playground suits a quick test.
- Partners and apps. Several companies host Flux in their own products.
- Open weights on your own machine. This needs a developer, a GPU and a careful look at the licence section above. Small owners rarely need it.
- Platforms that host it. Higgsfield, a web platform that hosts many image and video models, lists Flux in its tool.
Where Higgsfield fits for Flux
Higgsfield is a web platform from Higgsfield Inc that gives you many image and video models under one login and one pool of credits (credits are the points you spend per generation). Its in-product model list on 4 November 2026 named: FLUX.2 (variants pro, flex and max, at 1K and 2K), FLUX 3 Image (up to 4K and ten reference images), FLUX 3 Video (5 to 20 seconds, 720p up to 4K, with audio), FLUX 3 Video Edit, and Flux Kontext. The provider is listed as Black Forest Labs.
What it does for this job: you can run the same prompt through Flux, Nano Banana (Google's image model, covered in what Nano Banana is), Seedream and GPT Image without opening four accounts, and you can send a good still into a video model afterward. It is the easiest way to run the test below if you do not code. Higgsfield does not publish a credit cost for every model, so read the cost on the Generate button and measure cost per approved image. The pricing page lists Starter at $19 a month (270 credits), Plus at $59 monthly or $47 on annual billing (1,200 credits) and Ultra at $129 monthly or $99 annual (3,000 credits). Prices change, so check the live page. See Higgsfield pricing explained. For a side-by-side of these image models, read image models compared.
Rights: Higgsfield's Terms of Use do not tie commercial use to a plan, but the pricing table marks commercial use as "Not included" on the Free plan and free output is watermarked, so I would use a paid plan for clients. Which Flux licence terms apply to the hosted models Higgsfield runs is not confirmed, so ask or read before you rely on it for client work. Higgsfield may train on content except under Enterprise agreements.
Try Higgsfield with a discount
I use Higgsfield a lot and I love it, which is why I partnered with them to bring you a discount. Get started through this link and you can get up to 50% off for the first 3 hours after you log in. The size of the discount and the plans it covers can vary, so check the offer on screen.
Flux, Midjourney and Nano Banana: when each wins
- Midjourney, an image generator with a recognisable style, is usually chosen when art direction matters more than literal accuracy. See Higgsfield vs Midjourney.
- Nano Banana, Google's image models, is more often described in independent write-ups as the stronger pick for multilingual text and keeping a subject consistent. That is not a verified benchmark. Google prints API prices per image; see the Nano Banana page.
- Flux is the option to test when you want fine control over typography settings, hex colours or many reference images, or when a developer wants to build it into a workflow.
I would not say Flux beats Midjourney on realism. No neutral test shows it.
A 6-prompt test with pass and fail
Run the same six prompts on Flux, on Nano Banana and on one free tool.
- Your product on a white background.
- Your product in a lifestyle scene.
- A poster with a 4-word headline and a price.
- A scene with two people shaking hands, to check hands.
- Your brand colours by hex code on a simple graphic. Supply the hex codes in the prompt.
- An edit of your own photo with one reference image.
Score label text, hands and brand colours for each. Pass: text correct and colours within a shade of the brief in at least 4 of 6 without hand fixes. Fail: any image with wrong text on a price or a legal line. Record which variant you used (pro, flex, max, klein) and what each attempt cost. Copy-ready prompt for test 5: Flat graphic, background hex #1F3A5F, headline in white, nothing else on the page.
Who should skip Higgsfield for Flux
- You only use Flux and are happy on BFL's site or API. Direct may cost less.
- Your developer runs Flux on your own servers under a licence tier you have bought.
- You need to know exactly which BFL terms apply to your outputs, with a document you can show a client. Read BFL's terms and ask your host in writing.
- You need a guarantee that nothing you upload trains a model. Higgsfield offers that only under Enterprise agreements.
How I'd approach this
I would never download weights on a blog's say-so. I would run the six-prompt test on a hosted route, pick the variant that passes, and read the hosted terms before the first client job. For a non-coder who wants to compare Flux with other models, one month on Higgsfield is a simple way to do that.
If you want Flux inside your own tool, with the licence question answered once and your prompts and approvals kept in your own system, that is a small custom build. Blur Studio builds the repeatable workflow, approval portal or shared asset library around these tools. Get in touch if that would help.
Questions people ask
Is Flux free?
Some versions have downloadable open weights, but free to download does not mean free for business. [dev] and klein 9B are non-commercial only, and klein 4B is Apache 2.0. Hosted versions are paid per image on BFL's site or through a platform. Check BFL's pricing page.
Can I use Flux for commercial work?
It depends on the version. Per BFL's overview, klein 4B is Apache 2.0, klein 9B and dev are non-commercial only, and the terms for hosted pro, max and flex are not stated on that page. Read BFL's terms first. This is information, not legal advice.
Who makes Flux?
Black Forest Labs, a German AI company. It is not made by Midjourney or Google.
Flux vs Midjourney?
Midjourney is known for a recognisable style, and Flux is a family with more control options and several access routes. No neutral benchmark ranks them on realism, so run the 6-prompt test on your own jobs. See Higgsfield vs Midjourney.
What is Flux Kontext?
Higgsfield lists Flux Kontext as a Black Forest Labs model in its tool, and Wikipedia lists FLUX.1 Kontext (Max, Pro and Dev versions) as a 2025 BFL release. BFL's own page on it is not confirmed here, so check the model page in the picker before you rely on it.
How much does Flux cost?
BFL's pricing page lists FLUX 3 Image at $0.048 per image at 1K and FLUX 3 Image Klein at $0.009 at 1K, and prices FLUX.2 per megapixel (for example [pro] at $0.03 for the first megapixel). There is no subscription on that page. Prices change, so check it.
Do I need a GPU?
Only if you run open weights yourself. Hosted routes, such as BFL's site or a platform like Higgsfield, need only a web browser.
What is the difference between Flux Pro and Dev?
Pro is a hosted production version. Dev has downloadable weights and is free for non-commercial use only. Hosted terms for pro were not stated on the overview page, so read them.
More in this topic: AI models explained (9 guides) →
Sources
- FLUX.2 overview (Black Forest Labs docs, vendor)
- Black Forest Labs pricing (vendor)
- Black Forest Labs open-weights licensing (vendor)
- FLUX.2 klein 4B model card (Hugging Face, Black Forest Labs)
- FLUX.2 dev model page (Hugging Face, Black Forest Labs)
- Flux (text-to-image model) (Wikipedia, secondary, version dates)
- Higgsfield pricing (Higgsfield, vendor)
- Higgsfield Terms of Use, last updated 23 October 2026 (Higgsfield)
- Higgsfield apps and tools (Higgsfield)
- Image generation with Gemini (Google AI Studio docs, official, for the Nano Banana comparison)